Tuesday, January 29, 2008

LASERS Board selects 2008 officers

The governing body of the Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System (LASERS) elected new officers as the 2008 LASERS Board of Trustees took their seats.

The trustees chose Sheryl M. Ranatza as 2008 Board Chair. Ms. Ranatza is an active-member trustee who was elected in October, 2007, to her second term on the board. She is employed as Deputy Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, and is a former deputy warden of the Louisiana State Penitentiary.

Trudy M. White, a Baton Rouge City Court judge, was elected 2008 Vice Chair. Judge White is serving her second term on the Board of Trustees.

The LASERS Board of Trustees oversees the $9 billion LASERS trust fund, which is the source of the benefits that the system pays to its members and their beneficiaries. The board is composed of 12 members. Nine trustees are elected by active and retired members of LASERS. Three trustees serve as ex officio members: the Louisiana State Treasurer; the Chair of the Louisiana Senate Committee on Retirement; and the Chair of the Louisiana House of Representatives Committee on Retirement. Senator Butch Gautreaux continues to serve as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Retirement. Representative Joel Robideaux is the newly appointed Chair of the House Retirement Committee and attended his first meeting of the Board of Trustees. As state treasurer, John Kennedy continues in his capacity as an ex officio trustee.

The LASERS Board of Trustees election takes place every odd-numbered year. LASERS trustees serve staggered four-year terms. The board selects new officers each January.

No comments: