Friday, November 18, 2011

2011 LASERS Board of Trustees Election Results

Two retired member representatives have been elected to serve on the Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System (LASERS) Board of Trustees. Voting ended for retirees on October 28, and the Board certified these results at its November 18 meeting. Elected to serve four-year terms are: Connie Carlton, retired from LASERS; and Barbara McManus, retired from the Department of Social Services.

Three candidates qualified for the three active positions, eliminating the need for an election. Active member representatives serving four-year terms are: Thomas Bickham and Sheryl Ranatza, both of the Department of Public Safety & Corrections, and Shannon Templet of the State Department of Civil Service.

New Trustees will be sworn in prior to the Board’s regular meeting on January 27, 2012.

The 12-member policy-making Board has fiduciary oversight over LASERS. Members include six elected active representatives, three retiree representatives, and three ex officio members including the State Treasurer, the Chair of the House Committee on Retirement, and the Chair of the Senate Committee on Retirement.

No comments: